A Brief History Of FSKM UiTM Melaka

FSKM has been operating in UiTM Melaka since 2005. It offers 3 diploma programs: Diploma in Computer Science (CS110),  Diploma in Actuarial Sciences (CS112), and Diploma in Quantitative Sciences/Diploma in Mathematical Sciences (CS113/CS143) and provides services to other faculties namely FPP, FPN, FSPPP, and FPHP in UiTM Melaka. The aim of these programs is to provide students with the skills and broad-based knowledge in their respective areas of specialization to meet the rapidly changing demands of a modern society.

On May 2014, FSKM UiTM Melaka relocated its programs to other campuses. The Diploma in Computer Science (CS110), Diploma in Actuarial Sciences (CS112) and Diploma in Quantitative Sciences (CS113) program, each was relocated to UiTM Melaka Kampus Jasin,  UiTM Negeri Sembilan Kampus Seremban 3 and UiTM Perak Kampus Tapah respectively.

In addition to CS110 program, FSKM UiTM Melaka Kampus Jasin is offering 5 degree programs:

- Bachelor of Computer Science (Hons) - CS230

- Bachelor of Computer Science (Hons) Multimedia Computing - CS253

- Bachelor of Computer Science (Hons) Netcentric Computing - CS251

- Bachelor of Computer Science (Hons) Data Communication & Networking - CS245

- Bachelor of Information Technology (Hons) Information System Engineering - CS246 

These programs  started on 1st February 2014, followed by CS110 program on 1st May 2014. The degree programs provide various concentration and specialization for graduates in the computing discipline.

Here's a timeline of the Faculty's historical milestones from first operation to the present in UiTM Melaka:



12 August 1984

UiTM  Melaka formerly known as ITM Melaka started on 12 August 1984 in a temporary IKM Building  at Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka.


2 May 1996

YAB Dato’ Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohammad, the fourth Prime Minister of Malaysia officiated the permanent and main campus in Lendu, Alor Gajah Melaka.


24 Dec 2005

Faculty of Information Technology and Quantitative Science (or Fakulti Teknologi Maklumat dan Sains Kuantitatif or FTMSK) was first started at UiTM Melaka on 24 Dec 2005.  The first group of students consisted of 17 students of Diploma in Computer Sciences (CS110) and 19 students of Diploma in Quantitative Sciences (CS113).


Jan 2007

UiTM Kampus Bandaraya Melaka (KBM) was opened at Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka.  All bachelor degree students were placed at this campus.  In KBM, FSKM acts as a servicing faculty to other faculties.



FTMSK was officially renamed Faculty of Computer and Mathematical Sciences (or Fakulti Sains Komputer dan Matematik or FSKM) in 2007.


June 2008


First badge of FSKM students consisting of 16 CS110 students and 17 CS113 students graduated from UiTM Melaka.


25 May 2011

Diploma in Actuarial Sciences (CS112) started in UiTM Melaka in May 2011 with 30 students.


Mar 2012

FSKM offers three diploma programs ; CS110, CS112, and CS113 with a total of 525 students and 63 academic staff.  The academic staff also give services to other faculties such as FPP, FPN, FSPPP, and FPHP.


16 Apr 2012

CS113 is officially renamed as Diploma in Mathematical Sciences (Diploma Sains Matematik), CS143.


1 Feb 2014

UiTM Kampus Jasin is officially opened. New semester started for FSKM’s degree programs.


1 May 2014

CS110 program is officially relocated to UiTM Kampus Jasin. FSKM remains offering servicing courses  to UiTM Melaka (Alor Gajah) and UiTM Kampus Bandaraya Melaka.


By:   PM Wan Hartini Wan Hassan, Azlin Dahlan, Mazliana Hasnan